The Heart of Joy

The Heart of Joy, A Prairie Heritage Addendum

Denver, Colorado, 1914

Heart of Joy Cover--02--72dpiJoy Michaels, grieving mother and widow, resides in an aging but remarkable Denver home: a beautiful, three-story Queen Anne/Victorian mansion resplendent with towers, turrets, peaks, and gables and known locally as Palmer House. Palmer House—a most extraordinary refuge for young women rescued from prostitution.

Joy and her mother, Rose Thoresen, share the responsibilities of ministering to and mentoring the young women who live under Palmer House’s roof. But now Joy faces an agonizing decision: Should she remain true to the memory of her first love or open her heart to the possibility of new love?

“I will always love you, Grant,” Joy whispered, “but God has called you away, and now I must follow the path he has laid before me—even if it is not what either of us would have chosen, had we been given such a choice.”


Vikki’s passion for people and their stories is evident in her readers’ affection for her characters and unusual plotlines. Two often-repeated sentiments are, “I feel like I know these people” and “I’m right there, in the book, experiencing what the characters experience.”

Vikki holds a Ph.D. in Organizational Learning and Instructional Technologies. She left a career of twenty-plus years in government, academia, and corporate life to pursue writing full time. “Writing is the best job ever,” she admits, “and the most demanding.”

Also an accomplished speaker and teacher, Vikki and her husband Conrad Smith make their home in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

To keep abreast of new book releases, sign up for Vikki’s newsletter on her website, or find her on Facebook, Pinterist, and Twitter.

Other Books by Vikki

A Prairie Heritage

One family . . . steeped in the love and grace of God, indomitable in their faith, tried and tested in the fires of life, passing forward a legacy to change their world. The compelling saga of family, faith, and great courage.

Book 1: A Rose Blooms Twice (A free eBook available from most online book retailers.)
Book 2: Wild Heart on the Prairie
Book 3: Joy on This Mountain
Book 4: The Captive Within
Book 5: Stolen
Book 6: Lost Are Found
Book 7: All God’s Promises
Addendum: The Heart of Joy, found exclusively in the boxed set, Christmas Lights.

The Books of A Prairie Heritage













Tabitha, Girls from the Mountain, Book 1
The Great War; a great romance.

Tabitha: Girls from the Mountain, Book 1













Stealthy Steps, Nanostealth, Book 1
Invisibility comes with its own set of problems.

Stealthy Steps: Nanostealth, Book 1